CiteFacts · FDA Drug Shortages · FDA source

FDA shortage status: Lidocaine Hydrochloride Injection

FDA shortage status · Source checked 2026-10-06T18:55:41+00:00

FDA source answer

FDA currently lists this ingredient in shortage.

FDA source statuses: Current, To Be Discontinued. First FDA posting: 2012-02-22. Latest FDA row update: 2026-10-05.

FDA lists 67 package records, with companies: Amphastar Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Anthea Pharma, Avenacy, LLC, B. Braun Medical Inc., Baxter Healthcare, Baxter Healthcare Corporation, Eugia US LLC, Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., Hospira, Inc., Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company, Huons Co., Ltd., Huons Co., Ltd. (South Korea), International Medication Systems, Limited, Spectra Medical Devices, LLC. Package NDCs: 0143-9575-10, 0143-9577-10, 0143-9594-25, 0143-9595-25, 0264-9594-10, 0264-9594-20, 0264-9598-20, 0338-0409-03, 0338-0411-02, 0409-1323-05, 0409-2066-05, 0409-4275-01, 0409-4276-01, 0409-4276-02, 0409-4277-01, 0409-4277-02, 0409-4278-01, 0409-4279-02, 0409-4282-01, 0409-4282-02, 0409-4283-01, 0409-4713-02, 0409-4713-32, 0409-4776-01, 0409-4903-34, 0409-4904-34, 0409-9137-05, 55150-159-74, 55150-161-02, 55150-162-05, 55150-163-30, 55150-164-02, 55150-165-05, 55150-251-10, 55150-252-20, 55150-254-10, 55150-255-20, 55150-256-50, 63323-201-02, 63323-201-10, 63323-202-02, 63323-208-05, 63323-484-57, 63323-485-27, 63323-485-57, 63323-486-17, 63323-486-27, 63323-486-57, 63323-491-57, 63323-492-27, 63323-492-31, 63323-492-37, 63323-492-57, 63323-493-91, 63323-493-97, 63323-495-07, 63323-495-27, 63323-496-97, 65282-1605-1, 73293-0001-2, 76329-3390-1, 83634-651-10, 83634-651-20, 83634-651-50, 83634-653-02, 83634-653-05, 83634-653-30.

FDA shortage reason: Demand increase for the drug; Other

This is nationwide FDA status, not local pharmacy inventory. CiteFacts does not provide medical, treatment, substitution, or dosing advice.

FDA package and manufacturer records

CompanyPackage NDCPresentationFDA availability fieldFDA update
Amphastar Pharmaceuticals, Inc.76329-3390-1Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 76329-3390-1)Limited Availability2026-09-16
Anthea Pharma83634-653-05Lidocaine Hydochloride, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (NDC 83634-653-05)Available2026-10-05
Anthea Pharma83634-651-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 100 mg/10 mL (NDC 83634-651-10)Available2026-10-05
Anthea Pharma83634-653-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (NDC 83634-653-02)Available2026-10-05
Anthea Pharma83634-651-20Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/20 mL (NDC 83634-651-20)Available2026-10-05
Anthea Pharma83634-653-30Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 300 mg/30 mL (NDC 83634-653-30)Available2026-10-05
Anthea Pharma83634-651-50Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (NDC 83634-651-50)Available2026-10-05
B. Braun Medical Inc.0264-9594-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-10)Available2026-09-22
B. Braun Medical Inc.0264-9594-20Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .4 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9594-20)Available2026-09-22
B. Braun Medical Inc.0264-9598-20Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 5 g/100 mL; .8 g/100 mL (NDC 0264-9598-20)Available2026-09-22
Baxter Healthcare0338-0409-03Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 0338-0409-03)Available2026-10-02
Baxter Healthcare0338-0411-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride And Dextrose, Injection, 8 mg/1 mL (NDC 0338-0411-02)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-159-74Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-159-74)Unavailable2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-161-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-161-02)Unavailable2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-162-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-162-05)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-163-30Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-163-30)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-251-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/mL (NDC 55150-251-10)Unavailable2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-252-20Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/mL (NDC 55150-252-20)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-165-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-165-05)Unavailable2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-164-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/mL (NDC 55150-164-02)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-254-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/mL (NDC 55150-254-10)Unavailable2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-255-20Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/mL (NDC 55150-255-20)Available2026-10-02
Eugia US LLC55150-256-50Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/mL (NDC 55150-256-50)Unavailable2026-10-02
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-201-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-201-02)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-208-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-208-05)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-201-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-201-10)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-202-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-202-02)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-485-27Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-485-27)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-485-57Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-485-57)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-492-27Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-492-27)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-492-31Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-492-31)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-492-37Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-492-37)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-492-57Xylocaine, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-492-57)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-493-91Xylocaine, Injection, 15 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-493-91)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-493-97Xylocaine, Injection, 15 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-493-97)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-486-17Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-486-17)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-486-27Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-486-27)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-486-57Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-486-57)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-495-07Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-495-07)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-495-27Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-495-27)Available2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-496-97Xylocaine, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-496-97)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-484-57Xylocaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-484-57)Unavailable2026-09-15
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC63323-491-57Xylocaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-491-57)Available2026-09-15
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.0143-9577-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9577-10)Available2026-09-18
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.0143-9575-10Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9575-10)Available2026-09-18
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.0143-9595-25Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Preservative Free, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9595-25)Available2026-09-18
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.0143-9594-25Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Preservative Free, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9594-25)Available2026-09-18
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4277-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 1,000 mg/50 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-02)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4276-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 200 mg/20 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-01)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4275-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4275-01)Unavailable2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4277-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/20 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4277-01)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4276-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride In Plastic Container, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4276-02)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-1323-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free In Plastic Container, Injection, 100 mg/5mL (2%,20 mg/1 mL) Syringes (NDC 0409-1323-05)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-9137-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free In Plastic Container, Injection, 50 mg/5mL (1%, 10 mg/1 mL) Syringes (NDC 0409-9137-05)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4713-32Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-32)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4283-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 200 mg/5 mL (4%; 40 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4283-01)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4776-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 300 mg/20 mL (1.5%; 15 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4776-01)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4713-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride Preservative Free, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4713-02)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4904-34Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 1%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) LifeShield™ ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) (NDC 0409-4904-34)"Not stated2025-11-07
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-2066-05Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 100 mg/5 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2066-05)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4903-34Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2%, USP (For Cardiac Use Only) 100 mg/5 mL (20 mg/mL) LifeShield® ABBOJECT® Glass Syringe (20 G x 1 1/2) (NDC 0409-4903-34)"Not stated2025-11-07
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4282-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/10 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-02)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4278-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (0.5%; 5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4278-01)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4279-02Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 300 mg/30 mL (1%; 10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4279-02)Available2026-09-22
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company0409-4282-01Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (2%; 20 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-4282-01)Available2026-09-22
Huons Co., Ltd. (South Korea)73293-0001-2Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 73293-0001-2)Unavailable2026-07-30
Spectra Medical Devices, LLC65282-1605-1Lidocaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 65282-1605-1)Unavailable2026-05-15

Source facts

Grouped generic ingredient: Lidocaine Hydrochloride Injection · 67 package records

Therapeutic categories: Analgesia/Addiction, Anesthesia, Cardiovascular, Pediatric
Dosage forms: Injection
Routes: EPIDURAL, INFILTRATION, INTRACAUDAL, INTRAVENOUS, PERINEURAL, RETROBULBAR, TOPICAL

Open FDA source data · JSON · Markdown

FDA is authoritative. Source retrieved 2026-10-06T18:55:41+00:00. Derived grouping is documented in this record's derivations.