CiteFacts · FDA Drug Shortages · FDA source
FDA shortage status: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection
FDA source answer
FDA currently lists this ingredient in shortage.
FDA source statuses: Current, To Be Discontinued. First FDA posting: 2018-02-20. Latest FDA row update: 2026-10-02.
FDA lists 62 package records, with companies: Aspiro Pharma Limited, Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Eugia US LLC, Fosun Pharma USA Inc., Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, Hospira, Inc., Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company, Huons Co., Ltd, Huons Co., Ltd., Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd., Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc, ONESOURCE SPECIALTY PTE LTD, Somerset Therapeutics, LLC. Package NDCs: 0409-0525-25, 0409-1159-01, 0409-1159-02, 0409-1160-01, 0409-1162-01, 0409-1162-02, 0409-1163-01, 0409-1165-01, 0409-1165-02, 0409-1530-01, 0409-1761-10, 0409-1761-62, 0409-2253-01, 0409-2253-25, 0409-2510-01, 0409-3613-01, 0409-5010-01, 0409-7535-01, 31722-275-32, 31722-275-34, 31722-276-32, 31722-276-34, 31722-277-32, 31722-277-34, 55150-167-10, 55150-168-30, 55150-169-10, 55150-170-30, 55150-171-10, 55150-172-30, 55150-249-50, 55150-250-50, 63323-464-17, 63323-464-31, 63323-464-37, 63323-465-57, 63323-466-17, 63323-466-31, 63323-466-37, 63323-467-57, 63323-472-17, 63323-472-37, 70069-752-01, 70069-752-10, 70069-752-25, 70069-753-01, 70069-753-10, 70069-753-25, 71288-722-32, 71288-723-52, 71288-725-32, 71288-726-52, 71288-728-32, 72266-263-10, 73293-0002-2.
FDA shortage reason: Delay in shipping of the drug; Demand increase for the drug; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Other
This is nationwide FDA status, not local pharmacy inventory. CiteFacts does not provide medical, treatment, substitution, or dosing advice.
FDA package and manufacturer records
| Company | Package NDC | Presentation | FDA availability field | FDA update |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-275-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-32) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-275-34 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-34) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-276-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-32) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-276-34 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-34) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-277-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-32) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Aspiro Pharma Limited | 31722-277-34 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-34) | Available | 2026-07-17 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-167-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-167-10) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-168-30 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-168-30) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-249-50 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-249-50) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-169-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-169-10) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-170-30 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-170-30) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-250-50 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-250-50) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-171-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-171-10) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Eugia US LLC | 55150-172-30 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-172-30) | Available | 2026-10-02 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-464-17 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-17) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-464-31 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-31) | Unavailable | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-464-37 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-37) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-465-57 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-465-57) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-466-17 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-17) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-466-31 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-31) | Unavailable | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-466-37 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-37) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-467-57 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-467-57) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-472-17 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-17) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-472-37 | Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-37) | Available | 2026-09-15 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1160-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1162-02 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-02) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1165-02 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-02) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1159-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1163-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1163-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1162-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1165-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1165-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1159-02 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-02) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-3613-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, Bupivacaine Spinal 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL in 8.25% dextrose) (NDC 0409-3613-01) | Limited Availability | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1761-10 | Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL) in Dextrose 8.25% (NDC 0409-1761-10) | Unavailable | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1761-62 | Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (NDC 0409-1761-62) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1530-01 | Marcaine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1530-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-2253-25 | Marcaine, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (NDC 0409-2253-25) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-2510-01 | Marcaine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2510-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-0525-25 | Marcaine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (NDC 0409-0525-25) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-5010-01 | Marcaine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-5010-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-7535-01 | Marcaine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-7535-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1160-01 | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-2253-01 | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2253-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | 0409-1165-01 | Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 75 mg/10 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-01) | Available | 2026-09-22 |
| Huons Co., Ltd | 73293-0002-2 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 73293-0002-2) | Unavailable | 2026-07-30 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-722-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32) | Not stated | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-722-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32) | Limited Availability | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-723-52 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52) | Limited Availability | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-723-52 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52) | Not stated | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-725-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32) | Not stated | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-725-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32) | Limited Availability | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-726-52 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52) | Limited Availability | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-726-52 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52) | Not stated | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-728-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32) | Not stated | 2026-05-05 |
| Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | 71288-728-32 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32) | Limited Availability | 2026-05-05 |
| ONESOURCE SPECIALTY PTE LTD | 72266-263-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride PRESERVATIVE FREE, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL 5mg / 1mL (NDC 72266-263-10) | Available | 2026-09-18 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-752-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-01) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-752-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-10) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-752-25 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-25) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-753-01 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-01) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-753-10 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-10) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
| Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-753-25 | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-25) | Available | 2026-09-11 |
Source facts
Grouped generic ingredient: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection · 62 package records
Therapeutic categories: Analgesia/Addiction, Anesthesia
Dosage forms: Injection
Routes: EPIDURAL, INFILTRATION, INTRACAUDAL, PERINEURAL, RETROBULBAR, SUBARACHNOID
Open FDA source data · JSON · Markdown
FDA is authoritative. Source retrieved 2026-10-06T18:55:41+00:00. Derived grouping is documented in this record's derivations.